DAAA XC Relay Championships

DAAA XC Relay Champs – 20th October 2018

Our season is well underway now and this weekend brought the team to Helensburgh for the annual Dunbartonshire Amateur Athletics Association XC relays. After a slightly hectic journey down having to take a replacement bus service (involving Andrew Merry sprinting heroically between the bus and train station down the hill) we arrived. The weather was what could be typically expected for a cross country race, a constant light drizzle complete with mist. Nevertheless this was not enough to faze any of our teams, least of all Kirsty who, with her signature cropped vest gave the women’s A team an impressive lead, closely followed by Laura Stewart. The course consisted of two 2km laps with a steep uphill climb followed by a rapid decent. Change overs to Katherine Mitchell and Emily Crusher were slick and efficient. With the B team now in third place Emily had her work cut out, but managed to make up time and finish her leg in second place, behind Katherine. The final runners, Aoife Carr and Stefanie Tucker put in strong runs for both teams, giving Glasgow a 1, 2 finish. Well done to Sorcha Hill, Sophie Chisholm and Julia Dunn as well to Vera, Natalia MacKowiak and Emma McKenzie who made up the third and fourth teams, putting in strong performances, with this being the first cross country race for some runners.


Next to head off were our 3 mens teams, lead by Finley Todd, John Melvin and Jean-Baptiste Michel who each gave their teams a strong start despite the tough competition. The A team had a particularly imaginative change over technique opting for a cheeky bum-tap over the more traditional hight five. Ellian Dorantes, Charlie Harris and Alexander Vikentev maintained the strong start each of the teams had managed, with Elian in particular putting in an impressively quick performance and Charlie’s un-usual choice of shorts making him easy to spot from a distance. The teams momentum was not lost by the third leg runners, with Oli Traynor pulling away even further for the A team and Daniela Nixon and Will Rooney putting in strong performances as well. The pressure was now on for Andrew Merry to keep this lead, which he managed wonderfully with the A team finishing in first place while Murdo Trail and Murdo Graham finished the B and C teams in 5th and 15th respectively. Individual medals were also won by Katherine Mitchell for Fastest Over 20 woman’s lap, Stefanie Tucker for fastest Under 20 woman’s and Andrew Merry for fastest under 20 men’s lap. 


A storming day of GUHH domination, congratulations to everyone who raced!

Words by Stefanie Tucker


Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Prove you're human! *